The 10th Annual BC Rehab Research Awards

Error message

Deprecated function: The each() function is deprecated. This message will be suppressed on further calls in _menu_load_objects() (line 579 of /home/bcrehab/public_html/includes/
March 4, 2013

BC Rehab is pleased to announce that two groups of rehabilitation practitioners and researchers have received the 2011 BC Rehab Research Awards. The purpose of this competition is to offer rehabilitation professionals the opportunity to undertake clinical research in their field of interest or expertise that ultimately helps people living with physical disabilities.

“One of the ways that BC Rehab supports people with disabilities is by sponsoring research and educational programs aimed at improving clinical care at GF Strong and other rehabilitation facilities. The BC Rehab Research Awards are an important part of this support,” said Paul Richard, Chairman of the BC Rehab Board. Each award provides research groups at GF Strong with $15,000 per study to investigate and research ideas that might otherwise not receive funding, and we are proud to play a role in expanding the techniques and knowledge that can improve the life of anyone living with a disability.”

This year’s winning research groups are:

Temporal stability and sensitivity to change of the Montreal Cognitive Assessment in acquired brain injury:
Dr. Christiane Kilpatrick, Dr. Patricia Lim, Dr. Noah Silverberg, Dr. Daniel DeForge, Alison McLean and Dr. Grant Iverson

This year’s winning research groups are:

Validation of the International Autonomic Standards for Evaluation of Individuals with Chronic Spinal Cord Injury: Focus on Sexual, Bladder and Bowel Function:
Marie Carlson, Dr. Ross Davidson, Dr. Stacy Elliott, Dr. Andrei Krassioukov and Dr. Vanessa Noonan